# West Deerfield Township Annual Town Meeting Minutes April 12, 2022

The Annual Town Meeting of West Deerfield Township was called to order by the Township Clerk Kristen Scott at 7:00 p.m. at the West Deerfield Township Center, 601 Deerfield Rd, Deerfield, Illinois on April 12, 2022.

Clerk Scott welcomed residents and thanked them for attending. Maya and Naomi Richter led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Present were Phillip Raupp, Carl Kitzerow, Mary Jones, Julia Cochran, Jerry Zachar, Joel Seeskin, Jill Rosen, Darryl Rosen, Frank Karkaris, Jan Zobus, Peggy Amado, Robert Feiger, Andy Scott, Maya Richter, Naomi Richter, Andrew Richter, Ron Levitsky, Emily Mysel, Nancy Urice, Kathryn Somers, Sandy Hart and Julie Morrison.

## **Election of Moderator**

Clerk Scott asked the electors for nominations for a Moderator to conduct the meeting. Deerfield resident Nancy Urice was nominated by Jan Zobus. Kathryn Somers seconded the nomination. The Clerk called twice more for nominations. There were none. A motion to close the nominations was made by Alyson Feiger and seconded by Ron Levitsky. A voice vote was taken to appoint Nancy Urice as Moderator for the meeting. All assembled were in favor and the motion carried.

#### Oath of Office by Moderator

Mrs. Urice took the Oath of Office, administered by Clerk Scott.

### Remarks by the Moderator on Conducting the Meeting

Mrs. Urice welcomed those present and made the following comments on conducting the meeting:

- Only residents of West Deerfield Township may speak or vote on issues
- Comments and discussions will be limited to the business at hand
- If you wish to speak, you will be recognized, stand and give your name and address
- Votes and resolutions will be made by a voice vote or a show of hands or cards
- Roberts Rules of Order will be followed

Mrs. Urice appointed Kathryn Somers as the Parliamentarian for the meeting.

### **Minutes of 2021 Annual Town Meeting**

Mrs. Urice called the group's attention to minutes from the June 15, 2021 Annual Town Meeting. Bob Rosenbacher made a motion to approve the minutes, and was seconded by Andrew Richter. There being no discussion, Mrs. Urice asked for a voice vote. All were in favor, and the minutes were approved.

#### Recognition

Moderator Urice invited Township Supervisor Alyson Feiger to recognize Township staff members for their extraordinary commitment and hard work during the unprecedented challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic, noting that while the Board of Trustees sets goals for the Township, the staff carries them out. She also thanked Frank Karkaris of FGK Services for his assistance in keeping the building clean during the pandemic. Supervisor Feiger further introduced State Senator Julie Morrison, Lake County Board President Sandy Hart, Township Trustees Ron Levitsky, Emily Mysel and Kathryn Somers, and Food Pantry Board President Bob Rosenbacher.

### Supervisor's Report

Supervisor Feiger presented highlights from her annual report, including the two Covid-19 vaccination clinics the Township hosted, continual Food Pantry operations, the Dementia Friendly initiative, and administration of the Federal Emergency Rental Assistance (FERA) program.

### **Assessor's Report**

New Assessor Andrew Richter introduced himself, noting that the Assessor's office has entirely new staff. He invited the assemblage to take a copy of his written report covering the first quarter of 2022.

### Reading and Action of Resolution No. 2022-1

Moderator Urice read Resolution 2022-1, setting the time and place of the next Annual Town Meeting as the second Tuesday of April 2023, at 7 p.m. at West Deerfield Township Center. Alyson Feiger motioned to adopt the Resolution and was seconded by Emily Mysel. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the Resolution was adopted.

#### **Comments from Electors**

Jan Zobus stated that she's lived in Deerfield for 62 years, and feels West Deerfield Township is stellar in its service to the community. Ron Levitsky praised Supervisor Feiger's leadership, as did Sen. Julie Morrison.

### Adjournment

There being no further business to conduct, a motion to adjourn was made by Julie Morrison and seconded by Supervisor Feiger. All were in favor and the motion carried.

The 2022 Annual Town Meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Scott Town Clerk